Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,739
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Auto Exposure Bracketing in Auto ISO


ebiggs1 wrote:

B from B said, "... why do you need to use HDR techniques..."

 

HDR increase the dynamic range of the camera no matter where you shoot.  That is what the "D" stands for.

 

 A side form that, auto ISO is not only silly it is a dumb idea.Smiley Frustrated IMHO, of coures, as always.


Cut it out, Ernie! Go back and read what I actually said. I wasn't questioning the use of HDR techniques; I was questioning their use when you already have control of the ambient light. As you've demonstrated on numerous occasions, HDR techniques can save a picture that would otherwise be ruined by blown highlights and/or harsh shadows. But in a studio situation, where those conditions should be preventable, what's the point?

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
VIP
Posts: 8,141
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Auto Exposure Bracketing in Auto ISO

Robert, Robert, Robert,

"I was questioning their use when you already have control of the ambient light."

 

Whether you control the light or you don't does not guarrantee a reduction in DR.  Since you have never shot in a studio, how would you know?

DR is everywhere, my friend, not simply outdoors.

A lot of Canon stuff. Along with, a lot of other stuff.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-29-2016

Re: Auto Exposure Bracketing in Auto ISO

Dynamic Range is everywhere..

 

Now for those who may not know about shooting in a studio or outdoors. 

Shutter Speed ONLY controls your AMBIENT light. Thus the light from your flash or studio strobe is NOT effected by the shutter speed.

ISO and Aperture will however effect both your Ambient and Flash power.

But since Aperture bracketing is like the most horrible idea ever becuase of how it screws with DoF.

Your only option is ISO. 

 

Now while most of you may be popular contributers, many of you are simply not experienced enough to understand why anyone would want this. So I encourage you to go Google for Joel Grimes and look at his portfolio online. He is one of the top photographers in the world today and he brackets ISO on many of his sports and fashion shots to give creative results. 

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,483
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Auto Exposure Bracketing in Auto ISO


JoeJackson wrote:

Dynamic Range is everywhere..

 

Now for those who may not know about shooting in a studio or outdoors. 

Shutter Speed ONLY controls your AMBIENT light. Thus the light from your flash or studio strobe is NOT effected by the shutter speed.

ISO and Aperture will however effect both your Ambient and Flash power.

But since Aperture bracketing is like the most horrible idea ever becuase of how it screws with DoF.

Your only option is ISO. 

 

Now while most of you may be popular contributers, many of you are simply not experienced enough to understand why anyone would want this. So I encourage you to go Google for Joel Grimes and look at his portfolio online. He is one of the top photographers in the world today and he brackets ISO on many of his sports and fashion shots to give creative results. 


First thing that I found.  Is this what you mean?

 

http://www.joelgrimesworkshops.com/blog/2013-entries/5-13-2013.html

 

I still think the technique is unconventional.  I also find the argument for his claim of 32-bit resolution just as unconventional.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
VIP
Posts: 8,141
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Auto Exposure Bracketing in Auto ISO

Not surprising!

A lot of Canon stuff. Along with, a lot of other stuff.
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,483
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Auto Exposure Bracketing in Auto ISO


ebiggs1 wrote:

Not surprising!


Fuzzy math.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,983
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Auto Exposure Bracketing in Auto ISO


JoeJackson wrote:

Yes I am fully aware of the downside of using ISO bracketing. I am a professional headshot and landscape photographer. However you still miss the point that this is the ONLY way to bracket for flash..  In addition this is an option on many other cameras.   Besides bracketing 100 200 400, or just 100 320 is not going to introduce any signifigant noise that anyone will notice.  This technique is used by many well known photographers like Joel Grimes to get HDR portraits, while still using studio strobes..


You mean studio strobes have no control over flash power? Might as will go Joe McNally.

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-29-2016

Re: Auto Exposure Bracketing in Auto ISO

"You mean studio strobes have no control over flash power? Might as will go Joe McNally."

 

LOL so you mean bracket the flash power? Good luck with that..  Try getting your model to stand perfectly still doing this.   Also again, this will only effect the light on your model. So if your outdoors the speedlite will not effect your ambience.. 

 

Currently the only real way to do this if your camera does not have ISO bracketing, is to use continous light. Which I hate becuase they do not give you the freezeing power of a strobe. 

 

Note. I keep seeing someone mention "this is unconventional". Yes yes it is. Learn to step out of your comfort zone, explore new techniques no matter how unconventional they may seem. Then find what works best for you, what lighting styles appeal to you the most. Then do them your own way. Form your own style. Then stand out from all the other millions of conventional photographers. Thats the ONLY way you will ever become more then just "a photographer".

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,983
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Auto Exposure Bracketing in Auto ISO

[ Edited ]

Seems to me that you have the same model-standing-still-problem with *any* braketing. Isn't that the whole point of using continuous shooting in portrait mode?

 

(Though I imagine that Canon could work braketing into FEC.)

VIP
Posts: 8,141
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Auto Exposure Bracketing in Auto ISO

Joe,

This is the just one problem, "Learn to step out of your comfort zone, explore new techniques no matter how unconventional they may seem."  Most have never done any of the things they tell others, how to do, or even what to buy!

A lot of Canon stuff. Along with, a lot of other stuff.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement