cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Accidental Lens Release

michaelgirman
Contributor

My 24-105L just fell off my 5D mkIII and rolled into the Seine.  The lens release button is way too sensitive and it is so easy to accidentally unlock without realizing it.  I went to twist the zoom ring and the lens rotated and dropped off.  Blogs are full of compaints of this occurance on mkii's.  

This is definitely a design flaw.  It's not user error.  The button should be relocated or made to require more force to release  or have a detent position.  

It's a shame that you have to gaffer tape a $2300 lens to a $2000 camera.  Be forewarned.  

184 REPLIES 184

@SportsPro wrote:

I'm not trolling or trying to be argumentative but I make my living shooting sporting events and games, from the NFL to the Olympics, ...

I don't claim to be a professional. But for the past eight or nine years, until my retirement in September, photography was part of my job. So I'm not exactly a newbie.

and no one that I work with holds a lens with their hand on top of the lens.

Well, they don't speak for me. And if their lenses aren't falling off, I have no reason to try to speak to them. And BTW, my hand is to the left of the lens, not on top of it.

Download the 5D manual here: 
http://gdlp01.c-wss.com/gds/8/0300007348/06/eos5d-mk3-im8-en.pdf

and refer to page 43 - Holding the Camera.

Yeah, I know what they say. But it's easier to draw somebody's hand in that position than it is to actually hold it there.

Hold the camera as instructed. Now pretend you're following a running back sprinting down field toward you. Quickly switch the camera from landscape orientation to portrait orientation. As the body rotates, the Lens Release Button rotates right past the meaty part of your thumb.

The nice thing about the way I hold it is that it doesn't. As my right hand moves up and to the left, the button moves away from my thumb.