cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

7D Getting the flash to pop up through the menu items

chaz2000
Contributor

Howdy!

I am new to the 7D, so please give me a little latitude with my lack of knowledge.

I just bought a used 7D. I knew the flash button was stuck when I bought it.

My question is; how to get the flash to pop up through the menus?

The problem is NOT the sticky post to the microswitch on the hot shoe. I disassembled, cleaned and tested that. I'm going to make a youtube video on it if anyone is interested or thinks it would be of value.

The preview button is also stuck. I think this camera must have been dropped.

Also, please see my other question about shooting video with the 7D.

Thanks,

Chaz

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I don't think you can do it through the menu. What you can do is switch to green square, leave the lens cap on and try to take a picture. That should pop up the flash.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Isn’t there a quick menu?

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

First, again, I need you to understand that photography hasn't been, and isn't, my life. I'm aspiring to learn, even at my advanced age. I bought this camera (impulse buy off of Craigslist) to learn to shoot youtube videos. And yes, I feel like someone just starting flight school (back in the day) sitting in the cockpit of a F-15, looking at all the dials, switches and controls, wondering how you even start the thing, much less slipping the surly bonds of Earth And dancing the skies...

When I push the menu button, a lot of boxes are along the top of the screen. The first is a red box. At the bottom of that menu is Flash Control. Within that menu 5 options, the first two being; Flash Firing (which is enabled) and Built-in flash func. setting, in which the first item, Flash mode, is set to E-TTL II. Is that what you are talking about?