Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-12-2017
Accepted Solution

60d transition to 7dm2

I encountered issues with my 60d which lead me to purchase the 7dm2. The 60d, started to give me somewhat out of focus shots which I couldn't figure out why. I thought maybe I had gotten a soft lens (24-105mm), but after trying my 50mm and a 70-300mm tamron lens they were also coming out rather out of focus. What would cause a camera or sensor to deteriorate? Is that even possible or are my eyes all outta whack?

 

Using the 7dm2, so far, has been a dream. I also got the 100mm macro lens and the combo of the two have reinspired me to practice photography. It's my passion and having a camera like this makes it so much more fun because I don't have to fight my way to a good photo through photoshop. I have yet to try it with my other lenses but I'm sure they'll perform well. 

 

I do miss my 60d's (i have two bodies) and I really super miss the titlty twisty screen. The 7dm2 is going to be a pain to learn and master but as long as I get the quality shots that I'm looking for, I'm not gonna stress over it. I do love the heft and size of the 7dm2. In a way it seems like that helps me stabilize the shot a little better.

 

Are there any tips and tricks that you all use with your 7dm2? Namely for macro/landscape photography?

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,362
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 60d transition to 7dm2

Tricks?  Um, no.  Once you become one with the camera, there no tricks.  I use my 7D2 mostly for action shots, where it can really shine, although I don't think I have full figured out the AF modes.

 

EOS 7D Mark II2017_04_170801.jpg


Use a very fast focusing lens with it.  EF 100400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,059
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: 60d transition to 7dm2

Other than learning all you can about the AF modes (more important if you shoot moving targets) it's really not that different to learn than any other Canon DSLR.

"A skill is developed through constant practice with a passion to improve, not bought."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,119
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: 60d transition to 7dm2


harshclimate wrote:

I encountered issues with my 60d which lead me to purchase the 7dm2. The 60d, started to give me somewhat out of focus shots which I couldn't figure out why. I thought maybe I had gotten a soft lens (24-105mm), but after trying my 50mm and a 70-300mm tamron lens they were also coming out rather out of focus. What would cause a camera or sensor to deteriorate? Is that even possible or are my eyes all outta whack?

 

Using the 7dm2, so far, has been a dream. I also got the 100mm macro lens and the combo of the two have reinspired me to practice photography. It's my passion and having a camera like this makes it so much more fun because I don't have to fight my way to a good photo through photoshop. I have yet to try it with my other lenses but I'm sure they'll perform well. 

 

I do miss my 60d's (i have two bodies) and I really super miss the titlty twisty screen. The 7dm2 is going to be a pain to learn and master but as long as I get the quality shots that I'm looking for, I'm not gonna stress over it. I do love the heft and size of the 7dm2. In a way it seems like that helps me stabilize the shot a little better.

 

Are there any tips and tricks that you all use with your 7dm2? Namely for macro/landscape photography?


Did you have the OOF problem with both of your 60D's or just one?

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-12-2017

Re: 60d transition to 7dm2

Both of them, actually. 

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,362
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 60d transition to 7dm2


harshclimate wrote:

Both of them, actually. 


What focus mode are you using, One Shot or AI Servo?  Which initial AF point are you using?  I advise using the center one.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-12-2017

Re: 60d transition to 7dm2

I usually use one shot since I'm taking macro and I always use center point.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,119
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: 60d transition to 7dm2


harshclimate wrote:

Both of them, actually. 


If it happens with all lenses on both cameras, it's hard to pinpoint the cause. Is there anything in common, like a macro rail, that you're using on all the bad shots?

 

Have you run any tests to rule out consistent back- or front-focusing?

 

Do you know for a fact that it's a focus issue and not camera shake?

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,362
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 60d transition to 7dm2

[ Edited ]

harshclimate wrote:

I usually use one shot since I'm taking macro and I always use center point.


What sort of macro shots.  You can get very narrow DOF at very short shooting distances. 

 

Is the shot below similar to what you're seeing?

 

IMG_7573.jpg

 

I used the EF 100 f/2.8L to take a series of photos of a dime, just to practice technique of stacking photos.  The above photo may appear to be OOF, and for most of the dime's surface, it is out of focus.  But, notice how there is a narrow band running across the center of it that is in focus.

 

I wound up taking a series of photos, each shot captured focus on a different part of the dime's surface.  I had to allow for the focused areas to overlap a bit, so that the image stacking software can do its' job. 

 

IMG_7598.jpg

 

I wound up taking shots at 10 different angles.  Not exactly a perfect job, but I was trying out some new focusing rails.

 

[EDIT]  I should add that I manually focused the lens, too, while tethered to my laptop.  Like I said, it was an experiment. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-12-2017

Re: 60d transition to 7dm2

That's awesome! Best looking 10 cents I've ever seen Smiley Happy

 

I was taking macro shots of some cacti out in my front yard, but I would think it'd be super hard to focus stack that because in the wind, it might be pretty hard to do. I mostly shoot handheld, and I used to think that I have a pretty steady hand, but I guess in the case of macro, it'd be best to use my tripod. Now, in contrast, when I use tripod to take photos of landscapes (this is with the 60d) my shots were still somewhat soft.

 

I'll have to dig up some photos to put up here so I can give you an example. I am, however, able to get really sharp pics with the 7d2 handheld. I just ordered a monopod for ease of use rather than a tripod. 

 

Do you think over some time, the 7d2 sensor will eventually become soft like the 60d did? Sensor or shutter... I'm not sure which might have failed.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement