cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5d Mk iv metering problems & TTL flash over exposing.

Jonnyboyb79
Apprentice
Hi All

I’m a newbie to the mkiv. I have a mkiii and have owned a mkii.

Im on a fast shoot in Orlando with a loan iv (new) and my iii. Im having some real inconsistencies with my iv metering and 580 ex ii flash exposure.

I’ve never had a problem with 580 and mkiii. With flash in ttl and either direct or bounced with a wing type modifier. Always fairly spot on.

The IV is really throwing me. Usually over exposed or too hot. I don’t adjusting using flash compensation but surely I’m doing something wrong? Surely a newer ‘better ‘ camera can’t be throwing me off so much more than iii. I even tested, same flash, same settings and same 24-105 lens. Still firing over and too punchy. I’m baffled. Usually pretty manic so not masses of time to fault find but at this rate I’ll have to resort to one camera! I’m a director of photography first and foremost in uk, but I trained in stills and have done this same kids charity shoot lots. With no problems before.

Any help would be amazing grateful.

I’m often shooting TTL. Shutter priority, evaluative metering but vary it sometimes. Have also tried my speedite 600ex ii. Same problem? I can’t believe it’s a camera fault but something I’m doing wrong!!!

Thanks all in advance.
4 REPLIES 4

Jonnyboyb79 wrote:
Hi All

I’m a newbie to the mkiv. I have a mkiii and have owned a mkii.

Im on a fast shoot in Orlando with a loan iv (new) and my iii. Im having some real inconsistencies with my iv metering and 580 ex ii flash exposure.

I’ve never had a problem with 580 and mkiii. With flash in ttl and either direct or bounced with a wing type modifier. Always fairly spot on.