Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-04-2017

5DSR - Not happy

[ Edited ]

Hi Guys,

 

I recently bought a 5DSR specifically for macro photos of bugs and studio portrait stuff due to the resolution and cropping capability.

 

However I have a few issues with it that I would like advice on before I either return the camera or contact support to see if it is defective.

 

I am not overly impessed with the picture quality in comparison to my 6D.

I used the 5DSR in a studio with the same lens as I did with my 6D and the same lighting system and when I zoom in the pictures are nowhere near as sharp as with the 6D, with the 6D I can zoom in and see hairs and pores on the skin with the 5dSR things are out of focus.

 

Secondly when uploading the pics to my PC using the USB 3 cable supplied, it gets half way through the upload and then the camera crashes with an error telling me to remove the battery, just using the power switch doesn't work you need to remove the battery. this only happens when copying CR2, it will get so far then crash once I work out which CR2 it is causing the issue I can restart the camera and select the next one and copying continues.

At first I thought it might be a dodgy CF card but the .jpg files all copy, it is only the CR2 that crashes the camera.

 

Also everytime I have this error and remove the battery I have to reset the date and time of the camera.

 

Lastly I took some photos yesterday then uploaded to the PC, formatted both cards in the camera and then took a few more photos, when I went to upload them, the PC said did I want to overwrite the existing photo, the camera even though it was set to continuous numbering had reused some previous image numbers.

 

The camera is 1 month old and hase the latest v1.1.1 firmware on it.

 

Lens was Canon USM IS L F4.0  24-105

 

Has anyone else experienced these issues? is my camera defective or is this just a trait of the this model?

 

Cheers

Steve

 

 

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,847
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: 5DSR - Not happy

Have you checked to see if the camera needs AFMA with your lens?

 

I can't really say much about uploading photos by wire as I always use a card reader and just take the card out and plug it into the reader. Needs no camera battery and no involvement with the camera's processor or software, so not much can go wrong. 

 

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-04-2017

Re: 5DSR - Not happy

Hi Scott,

Thanks for the reply, I will have to look into that when I get home from work, however it does look like a rather daunting task to carry out Smiley Very Happy

Steve
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,833
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 5DSR - Not happy

Losing the date setting when you remove battery sounds like there is a camera problem. All Canon cameras I have had either have an internal battery or a replaceable coin battery to hold settings when battery is removed. 

 

Does the reset occur when you remove main battery for charging/replace t or only when camera crashes?

 

What is image quality if you focus via Live View?

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-04-2017

Re: 5DSR - Not happy

Hi John,

I am pretty sure it is only after the crash but will check later, same with live view and focusing, I have not used it yet.

Steve
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,833
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 5DSR - Not happy

Live View would confirm/eliminate an AF system problem since LV focuses right on the sensor. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,371
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: 5DSR - Not happy


Wurzel555 wrote:
Hi Scott,

Thanks for the reply, I will have to look into that when I get home from work, however it does look like a rather daunting task to carry out Smiley Very Happy

Steve

Setting AFMA is as daunting as you allow it to be. In this forum and elsewhere you will be told how to do it with preprinted patterns, a tripod, a tape measure, special lighting, and finicky attention to detail. But if you accept that it's an iterative process, you can do it much more simply and easily. All you need is a scene containing objects at different distances. Set the focus point on an object about halfway out, and take pictures at several AFMA setting. Pick the setting at which the target object is in sharpest focus, and take another series of pictures with AFMA settings centered around the one that gave the sharpest focus previously. Repeat as necessary.

 

Some cameras will let you enter two AFMA settings, one for each end of the lens's zoom range. Take advantage of that if your camera allows it, because it gives you increased accuracy.

 

You do want to use a fairly high shutter speed, because you don't want motion blur to be mistaken for lack of focus. But if you do your tests outdoors on a sunny day, you shouldn't need a tripod unless you're testing a very long lens.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,833
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 5DSR - Not happy

There is also a technique you can Google called "Dot Tune".

Basically you first focus with Live View, which is actual sensor image. Then you focus with viewfinder. If focus shifts you dial in AFMA and repeat. Stop when focus no longer shifts. Not complex, but takes time.
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
Super Contributor
Posts: 249
Registered: ‎02-13-2016

Re: 5DSR - Not happy

[ Edited ]

If shooting from a tripod, would this be a case where you want make sure that IS is turned off?

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,371
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: 5DSR - Not happy


BurnUnit wrote:

If shooting from a tripod, would this be a case where you want make sure that IS is turned off?


It probably wouldn't matter, but I think I'd turn it off.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement