cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5D4 versus 6D and lens

Steves_8
Contributor

Hi folks. New member with the inevitable gear question - sorry!

I am an avid enthusiast with some semi-pro (sports) experience many years ago. I now shoot for myself and family but still like to shoot club-level motor sports such as hillclimbs and motorcycle trials, plus creepy crawlies.

I have a 5D3, plus 16-35 f/2.8L, 24-105 f/4L, 70-200 f/2.8L II and 1.4 TC. I also have a Sigma 150mm macro.

The 5D3 has been fantastic, but I have been shooting with it at a fairly high rate for five years. I have no idea what the shutter count is, but it must be up there by now. Consequently, having sold my little motorbike (arthritis made riding it painful), I plan to set the money aside for a new body when my current one dies, or maybe buy a second body now, thus reducing the workload on the first and extending the life of both. I doubt I will want to spend this kind of money on photography again in the future as I'm about to retire.

So, to my quandary. I decided to have a go at shooting video last year and so sold my 24-70mm f/2.8, replacing it with the 24-105 f/4L (to get the IS). Turns out I don't enjoy shooting video and find the 24-105 inferior to the 24-70 in terms of IQ, though not drastically.

Do I spend all the money on a new 5D4, or do I sell the 24-105 which would give me enough money for a 6D2 and 24-70mm f/2.8L II? I have read some troubling reviews about the 6D's dynamic range, but I know reviwers tend to go a bit overboard with issues that don't actually mean much 'in the real world'.

Apologies for the novel!

19 REPLIES 19

@ebiggs1wrote:

"I (don't) see  logic in buying a 5d4 (or the 6d2) before your 5d3 dies."

A valid point. There wasn't a great deal of upscale between the two.  Other factors must override that reasoning.