Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-21-2017

Re: 5D mark IV - AEB Issue (when in manual mode)

Many thanks for your responses @Waddizzle ... much appreciated. When shooting in manual mode I use:

  1. Manual focus (I only use TS lenses anyway)
  2. Manual metering (I use an off-camera meter because the in-camera metering is inaccurate when the lens is shifted)
  3. Fixed aperture
  4. Fixed ISO
  5. Fixed WB
  6. Fixed base shutter speed (zero EV)

 

The only thing I need to be automatic is AEB, and when using AEB, I expect the camera to adjust shutter speed only to achieve (-2, -1, 0, +1, +2) EV exposures. My 5D mark III does this nicely, as did all previous generations of 5D and even earlier cameras (D30, D60 etc).

 

My camera doesn't do that. It automatically changes aperture to bracket exposure, not shutter speed.

 

I'm at a loss why this seems to be such an issue with my particular 5D mark IV, since most other users report the camera working as it should. I've only found three other people with the same issue as me. There might be very few of us, but it's no less of an issue.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-21-2017

Re: 5D mark IV - AEB Issue (when in manual mode)

[ Edited ]

After many frustrating months, I have to say, in the end, Canon UK have been really quite helpful today.

 

It seems there are some photographers out there that do want to bracket aperture (as well as shutter speed and/or ISO), though I can't imagine why.

 

If within Custom Functions, you have configured the 'Main Dial' (highlighted yellow) to control aperture (as I have), then the camera will bracket using aperture. If you leave it at it's default setting controlling shutter speed, it will bracket using shutter speed.

 

It's very late where I am right now, so I haven't actually got round to testing this, but I am confident this is the solution. I will report back accordingly tomorrow.

 

Thanks all once again for your assistance.

 

5dmk4.jpg

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-18-2017

Re: 5D mark IV - AEB Issue (when in manual mode)

Thank you!   Works like a charm.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-21-2017

Re: 5D mark IV - AEB Issue (when in manual mode)

Yup ... that did the trick!

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-21-2017

Re: 5D mark IV - AEB Issue (when in manual mode)

FullSizeRender.jpg.jpeg

 

Hi Luke, 

 

I've had my CF set to this and it seems to be working now. I thought I recalled it wasn't when you initially contacted me last month. Maybe the firmware update 1.0.4 fixed it?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-21-2017

Re: 5D mark IV - AEB Issue (when in manual mode)

Hi John,

 

I can assure you it wasn't the firmware update that 'fixed' it. One of the reasons I persevered for so long, was in the hope that new firmware would fix the issue. But after flashing to v1.0.4, the 'problem' remained.

 

Sorted now though. Just a pity the user manual doesn't spell out the consequences of swapping over the dials.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-21-2017

Re: 5D mark IV - AEB Issue (when in manual mode)

I still don't know what I did since the problem arose to make it work properly now?

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement