cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5D mark II: Weird or amateur lens flares on pictures and too much grain?

basketmoon
Apprentice

Hi, I recently got a Canon 5D Mark II from my friend and tried it out with my EF 50mm f/1.8 (not the II). Before that I was using a crop body Canon 1100D (also with the lens mentioned before) and didn't have the issues I'm about to tell you about.

So, I'd like to ask you to take a look at those pictures here (it's best that you download them):https://www.dropbox.com/sh/bcx2uw8e3knrtlk/AACWp5NUEq2QLsRCtFx2Uzp9a?dl=0

First of all, I'm an amateur in the DSLR world, how all the tech stuff works, so I was always kinda winging it. Got the full frame body, so I can change it. I know the pictures on the dropbox folder are bad, but I was testing some settings, so I didn't really care about the composition and stuff.

My first issue which I didn't have back on my crop body, is the sun flare. Why does it become a straight line in almost all pictures with a backlit sun? Is it because of the cheap lens, my incapability to set the right settings, or what? It's not only happening with the sun, it's all kinds of condensed lights, as you can see on the picture with a blonde short-haired girl (the street lights), and the bridge lights on the other photos. Or even in the foreground of a portrait of that guy.

Another thing is, I don't know, weird grain? Zoom into the shirt of the girl, and you'll see a terrible pattern of grain. And even though the ISO is high (6400) I didn't have that kind of weird pattern-ish grain on pictures from my crop 1100D with the same amount of iso. It was just a lot of grain which I was fine with.