Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,483
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 5D Mark IV touch focus doesn't work for stills in live mode if you set back button focus


RobertTheFat wrote:

cpanddp wrote:

Thanks for response Robert

But why then in video mode am I able to focus both using both back button focus or touch screen. Seems inconsistent.

My preference in live view would be to be able to use either touch screen or back button focus without having to go into custom controls everytime to disable back button focus to use touch scrren as it works for video.


I'll answer your question with a guess, because I don't really know. But I do think my guess has a ring of truthiness about it:

 

Once you start a video, the shutter button isn't used anymore. So there's no reason to disassign AF from the shutter button by default when back-button focus is in use. So if the camera sees touch-screen focus as just another face of shutter-button focus, it (touch-screen focus) will continue to work.

 

But when you're shooting stills with back-button focus, you normally don't want shutter-button focus active, so the camera turns it off by default, which has the effect of disabling touch-screen focus as well. I've always been under the impression that there's an option to leave both shutter-button focus and back-button focus active at the same time, but I wasn't able to find it in the 5D4 manual, whose description of BB focus is virtually nonexistent. My suspicion is that the drawbacks to having both modes active at once would outweigh the advantage of having touch-screen focus available, but YMMV.


Setting up back button focus should require two changes.  Enabling a back button.  Disabling the shutter.  If you want both, then don't disable the shutter.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,739
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: 5D Mark IV touch focus doesn't work for stills in live mode if you set back button focus


Waddizzle wrote:

RobertTheFat wrote:

cpanddp wrote:

Thanks for response Robert

But why then in video mode am I able to focus both using both back button focus or touch screen. Seems inconsistent.

My preference in live view would be to be able to use either touch screen or back button focus without having to go into custom controls everytime to disable back button focus to use touch scrren as it works for video.


I'll answer your question with a guess, because I don't really know. But I do think my guess has a ring of truthiness about it:

 

Once you start a video, the shutter button isn't used anymore. So there's no reason to disassign AF from the shutter button by default when back-button focus is in use. So if the camera sees touch-screen focus as just another face of shutter-button focus, it (touch-screen focus) will continue to work.

 

But when you're shooting stills with back-button focus, you normally don't want shutter-button focus active, so the camera turns it off by default, which has the effect of disabling touch-screen focus as well. I've always been under the impression that there's an option to leave both shutter-button focus and back-button focus active at the same time, but I wasn't able to find it in the 5D4 manual, whose description of BB focus is virtually nonexistent. My suspicion is that the drawbacks to having both modes active at once would outweigh the advantage of having touch-screen focus available, but YMMV.


Setting up back button focus should require two changes.  Enabling a back button.  Disabling the shutter.  If you want both, then don't disable the shutter.


Yeah, that's what I thought too. But in a half hour of searching the 5D4 manual, I couldn't find it. The manual's description of how to set up and use the back button is startlingly vague. Would you believe that the phrase "back button focus" doesn't appear in the manual even once?

 

I believe, although I guess I can't prove it, the the "AF-on" back button is enabled by default. I also thought that using the back button doesn't disable shutter button focus by default, but the OP's experience seems to suggest otherwise.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-03-2013

Re: 5D Mark IV touch focus doesn't work for stills in live mode if you set back button focus

[ Edited ]

Tim,

 Thanks for looking into this...answers below.

 

With regards to the back button auto focusing on your EOS 5D Mark IV, we  have additional questions that we'd like to ask so that ourselves or the community may better assist you. 

-  Which button do you have set in Custom Controls for the back button auto focus?

 

AE Lock *  set in custom controls to AF (back button focus)

Shutter button half press set to meter only

All others set to  default

-  Whichever button you have set, does the AF ON button work in conjunction with touch AF?  

 

AF ON button by defaut is set to AF and works but touch screen focus does not in Live View mode

-  Are you attempting to touch AF whilst the camera has already locked onto focus?

 

No. I even put lens out of focus and will not focus in Live View through touch screen when back button focus enabled

 

All you need do is set the AE lock * to AF and the shutter half press to meter only and touch screen focus no longer works in Live View mode. Even CPS in NJ duplucated and said they would report it. It is quite easy to replicate.

 

Just an additional note...if I leave the half shutter press set to AF in addition to enabling AE Lock * back button focus, the screen touch focus works but it defeats the pupose of back button focus when not  in Live View mode as I only want the shutter half press to meter.

Your responses will help clarify this issue for the community.  

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎11-03-2013

Re: 5D Mark IV touch focus doesn't work for stills in live mode if you set back button focus

I have included more detail below to help clarify

 

Tim,

 Thanks for looking into this...answers below.

 

With regards to the back button auto focusing on your EOS 5D Mark IV, we  have additional questions that we'd like to ask so that ourselves or the community may better assist you. 

-  Which button do you have set in Custom Controls for the back button auto focus?

 

AE Lock *  set in custom controls to AF (back button focus)

Shutter button half press set to meter only

All others set to  default

-  Whichever button you have set, does the AF ON button work in conjunction with touch AF?  

 

AF ON button by defaut is set to AF and works but touch screen focus does not in Live View mode

-  Are you attempting to touch AF whilst the camera has already locked onto focus?

 

No. I even put lens out of focus and will not focus in Live View through touch screen when back button focus enabled

 

All you need do is set the AE lock * to AF and the shutter half press to meter only and touch screen focus no longer works in Live View mode. Even CPS in NJ duplucated and said they would report it. It is quite easy to replicate.

 

Just an additional note...if I leave the half shutter press set to AF in addition to enabling AE Lock * back button focus, the screen touch focus works but it defeats the pupose of back button focus when not  in Live View mode as I only want the shutter half press to meter.

Your responses will help clarify this issue for the community.  

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-24-2017

Re: 5D Mark IV touch focus doesn't work for stills in live mode if you set back button focus

My 5D Mark4 also doesn't focus in live mode when shooting through smart phone or PC. Now I knew how to fix that. I had returned AF-ON button to its default and it works properly which is disappointing. I thought that my camera was malfunctioned and I was planning to visit canon service center to fix it. It looks design issue. I hope that Canon works on it.
I really don't know whether it is fixed in the new frimware or not.
JMR
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-07-2017

Re: 5D Mark IV touch focus doesn't work for stills in live mode if you set back button focus

I have the same problem, which may be related to OP's issue.  

 

The phone app won't focus (so is unusable as remote control) until you assign AF ON to its default action. If that button is set to any other custom assignation (I set it to switch between AI SERVO and ONE SHOT) you can't focus.  This makes no sense since using live view on the camera itself still works ok, so it should work via the app.

 

(As an aside, the remote should also be capable of operating the camera in normal non-live mode I.e. As a remote shutter release. But it isn't. Can we have the software upgraded please?)

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,739
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: 5D Mark IV touch focus doesn't work for stills in live mode if you set back button focus


eslamvet wrote:
My 5D Mark4 also doesn't focus in live mode when shooting through smart phone or PC. Now I knew how to fix that. I had returned AF-ON button to its default and it works properly which is disappointing. I thought that my camera was malfunctioned and I was planning to visit canon service center to fix it. It looks design issue. I hope that Canon works on it.
I really don't know whether it is fixed in the new frimware or not.

It may not be fixable in firmware. It sounds as though the remote software assumes that the AF-ON button is set to its default functionality. It may require a firmware change to allow the phone or PC to ascertain the true state of affairs, but the remote software itself would have to be changed in any case.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,483
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 5D Mark IV touch focus doesn't work for stills in live mode if you set back button focus


eslamvet wrote:
My 5D Mark4 also doesn't focus in live mode when shooting through smart phone or PC. Now I knew how to fix that. I had returned AF-ON button to its default and it works properly which is disappointing. I thought that my camera was malfunctioned and I was planning to visit canon service center to fix it. It looks design issue. I hope that Canon works on it.
I really don't know whether it is fixed in the new frimware or not.

It seems to me that the simplest solution is to create and save a custom shooting mode for tethered shooting.  

I have two, or three, custom shooting modes in my cameras.  I use them as shortcuts to make several changes at once.  I have one for One Shot AF with the center AF point, and BBF enabled.  I have another mode for AI Servo AF shooting with different AF point selection, and no BBF.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement