Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,253
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 5D Mark IV, no shot to shot delay in auto mode, but why in Av and Tv modes?

See page 210 of your manual. Turn it off and see what happens.
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-11-2016

Re: 5D Mark IV, no shot to shot delay in auto mode, but why in Av and Tv modes?

ok...nailed it sir..

 

the only setting that is causing the delay is Digital Lens Optimizer.

when i turned it off....voila! here you go bam bam bam bam bam bam bam.....

as soon as you turned it on (while turning it on, the help displays that turning it on may reduce continous shooting speed will become slower)...the time really climbs up...like 2 to 3 seconds between each shot.

other settings doesnt effect it, like chromatic abberation, diffraction, distortion or peripheral illum....i have cheked it by turning each setting on and off and by turning all of them on but only digital lens optimizer off....so now i m getting that fastest shot to shot time.

 

thank you sir for the valuable help and support. i appreciate and thumbs UP!

Never Give Up!
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,253
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 5D Mark IV, no shot to shot delay in auto mode, but why in Av and Tv modes?

Glad to help. There are a lot of serious computations going on with DLO. It takes multiple seconds when it is executed in DPP on a fast Windows machine.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-01-2017

Re: 5D Mark IV, no shot to shot delay in auto mode, but why in Av and Tv modes?

I've been a very satisfied Canon user since the early 80s (A-1 and F-1n).  These were replaced in 2004 with a 20D, my first digital camera and a real workhorse.  This past Christmas, I upgraded to a 5D Mark IV and have been elated with the quality ... except for the rapid-fire shutter being disabled no matter what I tried.  I followed all of the recommendations of an online pro-shooter, which were very detailed, but he made no mention that the LAC setting negated the rapid-fire shutter.

 

THANK YOU for asking this question and to John Hoffman 75 for answering it quickly and simply.  I turned off the LENS ABERRATION CORRECTION setting as he suggested and, like the original poster, I can now rapid-fire on any setting.

 

Jim King

Western North Carolina

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,852
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: 5D Mark IV, no shot to shot delay in auto mode, but why in Av and Tv modes?

I should check this, but if you shoot RAW DLO is doing nothing except burning up a lot of DIGIC horsepower correcting the JPEG preview. The RAW data is still uncorrected.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-18-2017

Re: 5D Mark IV, no shot to shot delay in auto mode, but why in Av and Tv modes?

Iam also facing the same busy issue after first click, I have to wait for busy to go off for my next click .i was using it continuously before but from now iam facing the the same issue without changing any settings or memory card 🤔🤔🤔🤔
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-18-2017

Re: 5D Mark IV, no shot to shot delay in auto mode, but why in Av and Tv modes?

 
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-03-2017

Re: 5D Mark IV, no shot to shot delay in auto mode, but why in Av and Tv modes?

I know this is an old post but I have a question about my Sure Shot A 2500 and since it is Sunday no one to answer so taking a chance someone will see this and know the answer

My screen switches to a black screen instead of showing a subject I am trying to shoot. . when it does that I don't know how to change it and after trying many many different settings. . it stays black. . I have turned off and on and then all of a sudden it shoiws the suject again.... DO YOU KNOW WHY THE BLACK SCREEN OCCURS AND WHAT I CAN DO TO CHANGE IT?

ANY HELP APPRECIATED.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,253
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: 5D Mark IV, no shot to shot delay in auto mode, but why in Av and Tv modes?

Is there a display button or info button you can cycle?

 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,511
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: 5D Mark IV, no shot to shot delay in auto mode, but why in Av and Tv modes?

[ Edited ]

JCKVL wrote:

I know this is an old post but I have a question about my Sure Shot A 2500 and since it is Sunday no one to answer so taking a chance someone will see this and know the answer

My screen switches to a black screen instead of showing a subject I am trying to shoot. . when it does that I don't know how to change it and after trying many many different settings. . it stays black. . I have turned off and on and then all of a sudden it shoiws the suject again.... DO YOU KNOW WHY THE BLACK SCREEN OCCURS AND WHAT I CAN DO TO CHANGE IT?

ANY HELP APPRECIATED.


The eyepiece gizmo on the back of the camera may not be properly seated. When your eye approaches the eyepiece, the screen display is automatically shut down to prevent stray light from confusing the autofocus sensor. If said gizmo isn't seated properly, the camera may think your eye is there when it isn't. Yeah I know it sounds absurd, but we've seen too many cases to count when that has actually been the problem.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement