Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-20-2017
Accepted Solution

5D Mark IV focus points

All of the sudden a second focus point has become activated in my viewfinder. When I choose a focal point to activate, this second one stays on and is static while I move the other one around. Only one is focusing but the other looks active and it makes it confusing to know which is actually the focal point. That probably sounds confusing, but does anyone have a similar experience?

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,765
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: 5D Mark IV focus points

Is it always the same one that is stuck?

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-20-2017

Re: 5D Mark IV focus points

Yes, it's the top row, third from left. And now I'm noticing three rows of focus points are blinking.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-25-2017

Re: 5D Mark IV focus points

i am having the same issue but bottom leftmost point

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,608
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 5D Mark IV focus points


groomsphoto wrote:

i am having the same issue but bottom leftmost point


Try to do a camera reset back to factory defaults, which can be found in the manus.  

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-25-2017

Re: 5D Mark IV focus points

not ready to do that yet. i have a lot of time invested in my menus and setup.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,798
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: 5D Mark IV focus points

[ Edited ]

groomsphoto wrote:

not ready to do that yet. i have a lot of time invested in my menus and setup.


If your settings are that complex, it's worth your time to make a written record of them anyway, because sooner or later you're going to need it. (For example, if you send the camera to Canon for inspection or repair, it will come back reset.) Once you have that record, doing a reset will be less of a big deal.

 

BTW, Canon, I believe I've mentioned this before: It would be extremely useful if you would program the EOS Utility to have an upload/download capability to allow the full state of the camera to be captured and restored. How about making that feature a Christmas present to the user community? (After fixing the efficiency problems in DPP4, of course. We wouldn't want you to take your eye off of that ball.)

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-20-2017

Re: 5D Mark IV focus points

Do you mean the menu item that says clear all camera settings? 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-20-2017

Re: 5D Mark IV focus points

That worked! Thank you!

 

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-22-2017

Re: 5D Mark IV focus points

They take photos of animals = Fer tographers idk lol.

 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement