Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-30-2016

40D Paralyzed

Have A Canon 40D with the following issues:

 

Back LCD blank. Tried menu, info, playback buttons.

 

Pressing shutter part/full results in a 2-3 second busy flashing on top LCD and in viewfinder. Shutter will not take picture. This sequence can be repeated multiple times.

 

Access light never flashes.

 

Known good battery gets drained overnight with camera turned off.

 

Cannot get camera to be recognized by PC.

 

Have tried the usual different batteries, different cards, overnight no batteries to reset and clean lens contacts to no avail.

 

Camera does allow settings to be changed, does autofocus and flash pops up.

 

I have seen the blank LCD/busy flashing referenced before, but have not seen an answer.

 

Any help would be appreciated.

 

Thanks.

 

 

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,423
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 40D Paralyzed

[ Edited ]

Does the camera do all of these things without a lens connected to it?  Try a camera rest, which needs to be done in at least two places. Reset to Factory Settings.  Clear Custom Functions.  Custom buttons have their own reset.

 

It doesn't sound good for your camera, if you've tried all of the usual remedies.  Make sure your memory card isn't too large, <32GB, or a mini-SD card.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,722
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: 40D Paralyzed


Waddizzle wrote:

Does the camera do all of these things without a lens connected to it?  Try a camera rest, which needs to be done in at least two places. Reset to Factory Settings.  Clear Custom Functions.  Custom buttons have their own reset.

 

It doesn't sound good for your camera, if you've tried all of the usual remedies.  Make sure your memory card isn't too large, <32GB, or a mini-SD card.


I sure wouldn't use a mini-SD card in a 40D, especially if I were trying to debug a problem. The adapter it requires is known to be problematical on almost any camera, and I'm not sure it (the adapter) had even been invented yet when the 40D came out.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,423
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 40D Paralyzed


RobertTheFat wrote:

Waddizzle wrote:

Does the camera do all of these things without a lens connected to it?  Try a camera rest, which needs to be done in at least two places. Reset to Factory Settings.  Clear Custom Functions.  Custom buttons have their own reset.

 

It doesn't sound good for your camera, if you've tried all of the usual remedies.  Make sure your memory card isn't too large, <32GB, or a mini-SD card.


I sure wouldn't use a mini-SD card in a 40D, especially if I were trying to debug a problem. The adapter it requires is known to be problematical on almost any camera, and I'm not sure it (the adapter) had even been invented yet when the 40D came out.


Maybe that came out wrong. 

 

I wasn't advocating using a mini-SD card, at all.  I've always been against them.  Look inside of any Canon DSLR instruction manual, and it lists the types of SD cards that can be used, and nowhere do you see mini-SD written.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-30-2016

Re: 40D Paralyzed

Same problems with or without lens.

 

Using 512MB CF card.

 

Can't do resets since back LCD screen won't display menu pages.

 

Tad

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎09-16-2013

Re: 40D Paralyzed

Replace the CR2016 date and time battery.

 

Paul

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-30-2016

Re: 40D Paralyzed

Paul ,

 

Already tried several known good CR2016's.

 

Tad

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,423
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 40D Paralyzed


4twitowski7 wrote:

Same problems with or without lens.

 

Using 512MB CF card.

 

Can't do resets since back LCD screen won't display menu pages.

 

Tad


That card should be fine.  But, how old are the cards that you've tried?  I don't know where you can find that size, anymore.  I cannot find anything smaller than 4GB today.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-30-2016

Re: 40D Paralyzed

Just picked them up a couple of weeks ago at Staples.

 

Also tried an older 512MB card. All cards work fine in a Digital Rebel.

 

Tad

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,423
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: 40D Paralyzed

[ Edited ]

4twitowski7 wrote:
Camera does allow settings to be changed, does autofocus and flash pops up.

 

Can't do resets since back LCD screen won't display menu pages.

 

Tad


So, how can you  change settings if the LCD screen is blacked out?  Are saying it shows some stuff, but  not other stuff?  Try changing the mode button, too.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement