Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-30-2016

Re: 40D Paralyzed

Thanks for the leads.

 

I've already had the back off and dismantled looking for suspect conditions (loose/broken leads, corroded terminals, etc.). Didn't find anything obvious.

 

Don't know if the LCD is bad or is some other problem state preventing the LCD from being accessed.

 

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 137
Registered: ‎09-29-2015

Re: 40D Paralyzed

[ Edited ]

It is really hard to guess. If it is not about loose cables or contact problem and you don't have a LCD assembly to test it out, there is no way to identify the possible cause.

 

It may also be a bad motherboard or something else.

 

Try connect via USB to your PC and see if EOS utility can access the menu and if positive, it may very possible that the problem is with the display. (LED)  Then investing a samll $$ (may be $10) to replace the LCD is worth the risk.

 

Anyway, I have to congratulate you taking the first step in this bold adventurous DIY project.

 

Good luck.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-30-2016

Re: 40D Paralyzed

Have already tried connecting via USB. PC will not activate drive 40D is connected to.

 

PC does recognize Digital Rebel/300D fine when connected to same port.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-07-2017

Re: 40D Paralyzed

Did you ever find out why your D40 died. Mine just did and I purchased a new one but wondered if the D40 was fixable.

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-30-2016

Re: 40D Paralyzed

Turned out to be a bad main board. After replacement everything is still working fine.

 

Regards.

Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-07-2017

Re: 40D Paralyzed

Thanks
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement