cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1DX MKII best settings for 4K 60 fps filming in doors?

LanceA
Enthusiast

I have my 1DX MKII fitted with a new EF 24-70mm  f/2,8L  II  USM Lense for indoor filming.  Several months back when I first began experimenting with my new camera's indoor video 4K 60fps capabilities, there was MUCH better film quality with far less grain.  As a film novice I am thinking that maybe I have changed settings and created this downgrade in video quality.

Any advice as to how this camera/Lense combination should be properly setup for acquiring the best moderate light indoor 4K videos will be greatly appreciated.  Thanks a bunch.

Lance 

6 REPLIES 6

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

No one can tell you what settings to use.  You’re going to have to be the one to mostly figure this one out.  If you are not intimately familiar with the basics of general photography, you will never get the most out your gear.

Compare your settings between then and now.  The most common cause of grainy images is a high ISO setting.  Fast shutter speeds and narrow apertures can drive the need to use high ISO values.

You should always try shooting a still photo before making your video shots, if your camera is stationary.  Not only does this give you an opportunity to measure the amount of available light, it also gives you opportunity to measure the temperature of the ambient light.  

In other words, take shots with a grey card.  I do not know what type of filming that you do, but getting lighting and colors to look the same from shot to shot, scene to scene, day in and day out, should be a high priority with the utmost urgency.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."