cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

solar filter

Lloyd_Welch
Contributor

Ok...I am new to this and dont really know much but I have a canon rebel t5 and I am going down to TN to try my hand at photographing the eclipse. I bought a filter to fit my camera and dont know what 18 stop means. Can anyone enlighten me?

11 REPLIES 11

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Thank you sir.

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

18 stops seems an odd number... but it'll work.  

Most solar filters are "ND 5.0".  ND means it's a "neutral density" filter and the "5.0" is the density value.  Each "0.1" worth of density is exactly 1/3rd of a photographic "stop".  So "ND 0.3" would be just one photographic stop.  ND 0.6 would be two photographic stops, ND 0.9 would be 3 photographic stops, etc.  And by that math... ND 5.0 is actually 16 and 2/3rds of a photographic stop (just shy of 17 stops).  

The "stop" means it cuts the light exactly by 1/2.  So a 1-stop filter cuts light transmission through the filter so that only half of it can pass through.  A 2-stop filter means it's 1/2 of 1/2... or a total of 1/4.  A 3-stop filter is 1/2 of 1/2 of 1/2 (or 1/8th of the light can pass through).  

For an ND 5.0 filter, it means only one photon of light out of every 100,000 can pass through (it blocks 99.999% of the light).  If you were to attempt to hold the filter between you and ... say a desk lamp... you wouldn't be able to see any light from the desk lamp (it isn't nearly bright enough).  

Remeber that you only use the filter BEFORE or AFTER totality.  DURING totality you may look directly at the Sun (and your camera can directly photograph the sun without any filter).    It is the only time it is safe to look at the sun without proper protection.