cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

bird photography

Candy
Apprentice

I am just getting into bird photography.  I recently purchased a Rebel T3 with a 70-300mm (not IS) lens hoping to get great close up pictures.  I'm not getting that - photographed a cardinal 40 feet away and in the picture the bird is very small and can't make out any detail even with the using the 300mm setting.     I appreciate any responses.

9 REPLIES 9

ScottyP
Authority

If the problem is the bird appearing tiny in the photo, there is not all that much you can do other than to get closer to him.  Wild birds are small, and it just takes a heck of a lens to make them look big.  Birders shoot 400mm to 600mm or even 800-1200 by using 1.4x or 2.0x teleconverters. 

I hang feeders outside my window, and tape paper on the glass with just enough opening for me to see out and shoot him without him seeing me too much.  I can get them to pose nicely for me at just about 12 feet away by luring them in like this.  Of course, you get a lot of shots of your bird feeder that way.  To get a more "natural" scene, you can find (or cut) a small tree branch and hang it near the bird feeder so you can shoot the birds on a branch waiting for a slot in the feeder, rather than on the feeder.

You can also crop the shot on your computer to make the bird look bigger, but it very very quickly degrades the image quality so there is a real limit to how much you would want to blow a shot up that way.