cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

beginner photographer please help...

Canon_Canuck87
Apprentice

I recently bought an entry level camera, Canon Rebel T6 EF-S 18-55 IS II Kit. Im slowly learning on my own more about the camera and its settings, but one of the main reasons i wanted to start this photograpy journey was to do some Astrophotography (the milky way and such). I know the lenses I have aren't suitable for my goals (EFS 18-55mm)(75-300mm) and im aware I will need a very sturdy tripod, but if I could get some advice on a lens that would suit my needs for these shots I would be very grateful. As you know my camera is a cropped sensor and it would be a better choice to have a full frame camera but money is an issue and again im a beginner. Im trying to achieve a full frame shot with a cropped sensor camera, was wondering what lens would best suit my situation, fish eye lens? 35mm lens? im willing to pay good money on a lens that'll help me achieve my Astrophotography goals. Should i stay with a canon lens or another brand lens that'll do the same job? Anyways, thank you in advance for you help. Much love.

2 REPLIES 2

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

You can go ahead and start with the 18-55.

Are the skies dark where you live?

For the milky way, unless you want star trails you will need a tracking telescope mount for long exposures.

TCampbell
Elite
Elite

Astrophotography has "tiers" of complexity.

At the simplest level... put the camera on a stationary tripod and use a wide-angle lens.  The exposure calculation is based on the "500 rule" -- so named for 35mm film cameras.  That rule says that if you divide 500 ... by the focal length of your lens... then the result is the number of seconds that you can expose without noticing elongated stars due to the rotation of the Earth.