cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Total Beginner needs help please!

Deckydodo
Contributor

HI, I am a mom of three kids who are models. I need to take pics of them regularly to update their portfolio and send to their agent. I usually take them outside to play and snap pics of full body and some face shots. They move around a lot.

I have a Canon Rebel T5 kit. What setting should I have it on so I can have the flexibiity of moving around with them and taking pics. Auto?  If not auto setting, can someone talk me through each setting in another program please?  My photos look grainy, washed out, blurry, etc. I can't get it right. Thanks so much!!

36 REPLIES 36

One last question: what photo quality for size should i select? S1, s2, M2, raw, etc. (i don't do any editing, but i email them to the agent and he does) thanks!

"...what photo quality for size should i select? S1, s2, M2, raw, etc."

I use raw exclusively.  You should too.  The amount of adjustment in a raw file is far superior to any of the jpg settings.  Raw is another reason you need to get into post editing.  This is not a choice. After you do your edits you will convert the image to whatever file the agent desires.  That is going to be a topic for another discussion.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

@Deckydodo wrote:

One last question: what photo quality for size should i select? S1, s2, M2, raw, etc. (i don't do any editing, but i email them to the agent and he does) thanks!

Never use any reduced resolutions -- storage space is really cheap (you can buy a 1TB hard drive for about $50) so I never worry about how much space the images will take.

RAW is preferred but comes with a catch.

JPEG is common but also has a catch.

So here's the trade-off and the difference.