cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Total Beginner needs help please!

Deckydodo
Contributor

HI, I am a mom of three kids who are models. I need to take pics of them regularly to update their portfolio and send to their agent. I usually take them outside to play and snap pics of full body and some face shots. They move around a lot.

I have a Canon Rebel T5 kit. What setting should I have it on so I can have the flexibiity of moving around with them and taking pics. Auto?  If not auto setting, can someone talk me through each setting in another program please?  My photos look grainy, washed out, blurry, etc. I can't get it right. Thanks so much!!

36 REPLIES 36

you guys are so helpful! thank you! 

I took some pics to today in TV: set to 1/1000 ISO: 800 (I have no clue what the "F" thing is or where to find it 😞

Can you see my pics and see where I can improve?IMG_8167.JPGIMG_8189.JPGIMG_8173.JPG

Nice photos, and they are not pics, BTW.  Just keep on shooting.  Program mode, [P], is a good shooting mode to use to learn about the camera, and general photography.  It gives you a better opportunity to see what changes in settings do to a photo.

Once you get good understanding of the " Exposure Triangle " and " Depth Of Field ", you will be well on your way.

Oh yeah, that "F" thing you mentioned, that is one leg of the exposure triangle, the aperture, which controls depth of field.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

LOL, i cannot find the F setting anywhere! I'll google it 🙂

Thanks!