cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Total Beginner needs help please!

Deckydodo
Contributor

HI, I am a mom of three kids who are models. I need to take pics of them regularly to update their portfolio and send to their agent. I usually take them outside to play and snap pics of full body and some face shots. They move around a lot.

I have a Canon Rebel T5 kit. What setting should I have it on so I can have the flexibiity of moving around with them and taking pics. Auto?  If not auto setting, can someone talk me through each setting in another program please?  My photos look grainy, washed out, blurry, etc. I can't get it right. Thanks so much!!

36 REPLIES 36

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

First, forget Auto exists.  Also set the ISO to a fixed level.  Not auto ISO.

It sounds like you might have two issues to deal with.  Good stationery shots and some more active ones.

For the static or not much motion use the Av mode.  Select an aperture you want and let the T5 set the SS.  More open for less DOF and stopped down for a larger DOF (depth of field, more or less what remains in good focus).

For the active shots use Tv mode.  Set a higher SS value like 1/500 or 1/1000.  Let the T5 set the aperture.  This will stop almost anythings movement.

ISO in the range of 400 should work for both but you may want to drop it down to 200 or kick up to 800.  Don't go higher.

Picking a day and or a place that has good light will also bring nice rewards to you.  The best shots are staged so you know what to expect.  Guessing usually will result in hit or miss.  Shooting kids especially high schoolers is a large part of my business right now. Believe me guessing is not good.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Thank you

In TV, the highest shutter speed is 1/200

The Rebel T5 has a SS range of 30sec to 1/4000.  All are available in Tv mode.

EB

Ok, because it was in Al Servo, whatever that means 🙂