cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Telephoto glass for wildlife

Layochum
Apprentice
Here's the deal, I have the 75-300 macro lens that came with my T6 but want to have more zoom. The problem I have is that im far from able to throw large amounts of money out there for the lens I would really want, I am a hobbyist on a small budget, father of 2 girls plus a wife (daddy don't get a whole lot). I need some suggestions for an affordable good piece of glass that would give me some distance with speed. All responses are appreciated.
8 REPLIES 8

StanNH
Rising Star

What are your budget constraints?  Both Sigma and Tamron make decent "budget" 150-600mm lenses, but even those are in the $1,000 range and are not fast lenses.

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

The 75 to 300 is not that good of a lens.

If $1000 is too much for you, you can get a 1.4 teleconvertor which will make your 300 mm a 420mm equiv, which will be equivalent to a FF 672 mm.

I have had pretty good luck with my Tamron TC, though I don't use it much since I got my 150 -600 mm lens. 8^).

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

"I am a hobbyist on a small budget, ..."

Aren't we all?

Here is the cheapest option and it does a 'reasonable' job but keep in mind it is totally manual.  Completely manual. The Opteka 500mm f/8 High Definition Preset Telephoto Lens for Canon.  It is 800mm on your Rebel.  If that ain't enough, I don't know what is.  These sell in the $100 range. New!

Your next and better option is buying used.  The big tele super zooms are goof buys on the used market.  Somewhere in the $500 to $600 range.

Last choice, save longer.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

Layochum
Apprentice
Thanks for the help

If you can't afford a telephoto lens at this time, buy a SX40/50/60 HS for the reach.

Anyone of these ultra zoom will satisfy you with a small budget.

Layochum
Apprentice