cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

T6i : best AF setting to shoot movies without putting your hands on the camera

beatman
Contributor

Hello there,

I'm new to the Rebel T6i and I'm having some issues while trying to shoot movies.
When I film, I never have the camera on my hands cause I work with a 'cage' - a support that you attach the camera to it to have more stability and also put light and microphone on it.

Well, that said, I can't keep touching the screen to focus on the objects I want to focus. So I'd like to know if you guys have any  hints on what is the best AF set on the T6i for this purpose.

Thanks a lot!

12 REPLIES 12

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

The T6i camera lacks the ability to perform AF tracking in video mode, AFAIK.   It lacks "Dual Pixel AF".  If the T6i does have that type of image sensor, then your manual can teill you how to use it.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Nope, T6i does have AF tracking in video mode (3 types, actually).
My question leans towards user experience - i.e: I wonder if someone is already experienced using T6i for shooting movies so I can get some hint on how to properly set it.

Thanks anyway.

But they are contrast detection modes not at all like the Dual pixel AF.

I am aware of that. But still, even with an AF set not so tight (by far) as the dual pixel AF, there are probably some ways you can set the AF to get your job done. Today I've tried some different things and I'm improving on it.

The bad thing is I am asking myself here if somehow I've put my money on the wrong equipament. 

You did, you bought a still image camera for video.

The worst answer one could possibly give: it absolutely didn't help but it is technically wrong - roughly wrong.