Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,240
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: T6i and external monitor won't work


Sarah1989 wrote:
I'm having the same issue and my LCD is still active even while the HDMI cable is plugged in. It was working fine yesterday. Could it be the port or the cable?

It is one or the other.  I would suspect the cable first.  Try a different cable.  Avoid the cheap ones.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-29-2016

Re: T6i and external monitor won't work

Had this same problem. After trying different cables and monitors i went into the menue and cleared all settings. It cleared the camera of everything i had changed and brought it back to factory defaults. Pluged the camera into my portable monitor and it was working. 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-09-2017

Re: T6i and external monitor won't work

Had the same problem and then found that you have to disable the WiFI/NFC setting and it will work!!

 

Good luck hope this helps!

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-09-2017

Re: T6i and external monitor won't work

Disable the WiFi/NFC setting and it will work

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-07-2017

Re: T6i and external monitor won't work

[ Edited ]

 

 

The steps needed to get a canon T6i connected to a TV with HDMI is to:

 

- connect HMDI cable to camera

- Connect HDMI cable to TV

- turn on camera (swich to on)

- to display images, press the play button

 

At this point your camera screen will not display anything anymore but everything else should be displayed on the TV directly.

 

So, disabling the WiFi is not mandatory, and enabling Ctlr over HDMI is not required either.

 

Now, if you run into problems and the steps above dont work, and as suggested earlier, resetting the settings to factory default might work however, the best solution is to remove the memory card from the camera and then reinsert back in.

 

please let us know if this resolves your issue

 

Cheers

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-20-2017

Re: T6i and external monitor won't work


ipsprod wrote:

Disable the WiFi/NFC setting and it will work


YOU are genius!  Thankyou!

 

The simplest thing i didnt do.  ... a million posts online and NO ONE suggested this.  I specifically made an account here to comment on and give your post a bump.

 

Thank you very much.  I was ready to throw our camera out the window.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-20-2017

Re: T6i and external monitor won't work


supersaiyan81 wrote:

 

 

The steps needed to get a canon T6i connected to a TV with HDMI is to:

 

- connect HMDI cable to camera

- Connect HDMI cable to TV

- turn on camera (swich to on)

- to display images, press the play button

 

At this point your camera screen will not display anything anymore but everything else should be displayed on the TV directly.

 

So, disabling the WiFi is not mandatory, and enabling Ctlr over HDMI is not required either.

 

Now, if you run into problems and the steps above dont work, and as suggested earlier, resetting the settings to factory default might work however, the best solution is to remove the memory card from the camera and then reinsert back in.

 

please let us know if this resolves your issue

 

Cheers


Youre wrong when it comes to my t6i.  I disabled this option and worked straight away.  This was after a day of diking around with everything. 

... as a matter of fact, if you go to the "Wi-Fi/NFC" option and ENABLE it, it clearly states that it " will disable all connections via DIGITAL and HDMI terminals.
 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement