Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-28-2016

T6i and external monitor won't work

I have a T6i and when I connect it to an external HD monitor using the HDMI out port no image is displayed on the external monitor. the camera acts like nothing has changed.

I went into the camera settings and set the Ctrl over HDMI to Enable, but that didn't change anything.

 

Am I missing something?

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,318
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: T6i and external monitor won't work

[ Edited ]

Did you press the blue playback arrow. 

 

Capture.JPG

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,919
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: T6i and external monitor won't work

I would try a different cable.

 

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-28-2016

Re: T6i and external monitor won't work

yes I have tried these steps using a few different monitors.  I'm beginning to think the port on the camera is defective Smiley Sad

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,919
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: T6i and external monitor won't work

I asked if you tried a new *cable* not *monitor*, and yes, if a new cable does not work, it is probably the camera. The "control via HDMI" has nothing to do with this. That simply allows you to control the camera with the TV remote - which I have never had success with, though my T6S displays on my HDMI TV's just fine.

 

Have you tried the composite video output?

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-28-2016

Re: T6i and external monitor won't work

Sorry my response was to the first person who responded. and I also tried multiple cables as well.

I don't believe my camera has a composite video out option. the HDMI is the only one I can see, unless I'm missing something which is possible.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,318
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: T6i and external monitor won't work

It does have composite out with Canon cable. Plugs into USB port.

 

Capture.JPG

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-28-2016

Re: T6i and external monitor won't work

oh interesting. I don't have one of those cables so I'll have to go pick one up. it's worth a shot, Thanks!
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,250
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: T6i and external monitor won't work


mderksen wrote:
Sorry my response was to the first person who responded. and I also tried multiple cables as well.

I don't believe my camera has a composite video out option. the HDMI is the only one I can see, unless I'm missing something which is possible.

Is your LCD still active when you plug in the HDMI cable?  It shouldn't be.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-29-2016

Re: T6i and external monitor won't work

I'm having the same issue and my LCD is still active even while the HDMI cable is plugged in. It was working fine yesterday. Could it be the port or the cable?
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement