cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

T6- PLEASE HELP! brand new camera, and certain functions are acting up!

rachelmccart
Apprentice

So, this is my first nice camera I have ever owned. So I am new to all of this. I have the EOS Rebel T6..

It was bought a little over 2 months ago, so the problems I am having with it are scaring me because I haven't even had it that long for these things to be happening! I am very careful with it (like a newborn baby) and when it is not in use, it is in the camera bag I have. Has NOT been exposed to water, dirt, food...etc. So I need help!!

Problem number 1: 

Yesterday I got it out to take some pics at my salon.. I took the lense cap off, got my subject in focus and snapped a picture. Went to look at the playback screen and half the picture was black? Hmm..funny...because when I look through the peep hole at my subject nothing is blocking the lense or is in my way of taking a picture. So I took another picture. Once again, half the picture was black. I took my lense off, making sure nothing was blocking my view and I coulnd't seem to find the problem.

Problem number 2:

So, then I went to erase the bad pictures I had just taken, my "SET" button (in the middle of the ISO, AF & WB buttons)

wont work.... I click the trash can to erase the picture and then try to click the SET button saying its okay to erase, it disappers and the picture is still there. So then I go to the MENU button..trying to see if the SET button will work anywhere else on my camera. I try to click on one of the tabs and it jumps to another tab on the menu...

Problem number 3: (This problem just arose)

Now my camera isn't taking a picture AT ALL. And to make matters worse the camera is NOT saying "busy".... 

normally when there is an issue it says "busy".... well its not doing that. The lense cap is off, and its in the Auto Mode.