Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-03-2017

Red Focus Squares

New to the community - I look forward to learning about my new camera

I have the Canon T6i - When viewing my pictures during playback on my screen, I now have the red focus squares that are showing on my pictures.  Because I have been playing around with my settings and learning about my new camera, I must have enabled or hit something because these never appeared before.

Any help would be appreciate....I have tried all buttons and tried you tube but I am stuck.

 

Thanks

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,751
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: Red Focus Squares

Press MENU button on the back of the camera.  Go into the menu tabs and find the page that says reset all settings to default.  Reset them.  

 

This can fix all kinds of problems more easily than tracking them all down one by one.

Scott

Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,736
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Red Focus Squares


ScottyP wrote:

Press MENU button on the back of the camera.  Go into the menu tabs and find the page that says reset all settings to default.  Reset them.  

 

This can fix all kinds of problems more easily than tracking them all down one by one.


OTOH, reading the manual and finding the correct way to turn off the unwanted display will teach one more in the long run.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,982
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Red Focus Squares

[ Edited ]

It is in the playback 2 menu, AF Point display.

 

Note, that if you turn on lens distortion correction, the points won't display.

 

(pg 309 of the manual)

VIP
Posts: 8,139
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Red Focus Squares

Reset to default. Smiley Happy

"This can fix all kinds of problems more easily than tracking them all down one by one."

 

This tip is your friend.  Whenever stuff happens you don't understand this is the first, best and fastest way to correct it.

A lot of Canon stuff. Along with, a lot of other stuff.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,736
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Red Focus Squares


ebiggs1 wrote:

Reset to default. Smiley Happy

"This can fix all kinds of problems more easily than tracking them all down one by one."

 

This tip is your friend.  Whenever stuff happens you don't understand this is the first, best and fastest way to correct it.


... without discovering what went wrong and understanding how (possibly) to prevent it from happening again. The advice is sound, but I'd consider it a last resort, rather than the first thing to try.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-03-2017

Re: Red Focus Squares

Exactly - I finally figured it out and will post later after work so others will have a detailed solution should it be needed
Highlighted
VIP
Posts: 8,139
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Red Focus Squares

Robert,

"... rather than the first thing to try."

 

For an advanced person, perhaps.  For a new person, frustration.  I stand with Scotty on this.  A lot of the time folks did it by accident and don't know or realize what they set or pushed.

 

Reset is your friend and probably why Canon included it. 

A lot of Canon stuff. Along with, a lot of other stuff.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement