cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebel T6 Flash

TightGit
Contributor

Good afternoon.

I've just bought a Canon 1300D (I believe also known as Rebel T6) and, being a complete novice at photography, I'm using it in Auto Mode.

I'm finding that the flash pops up and fires, even in bright sunlight.

This seems all wrong to me but, as I said, I'm not an expert.

Is this correct, please, or have I got a faulty camera?

Many thanks for any advice.

Peter.

31 REPLIES 31

Mine is the 760D. As for Canon, the fewer the number of digits, the better the camera. 8^)

@TightGit wrote:

Waddizzle,

Sorry I haven't thanked you before for your comments, but I've been waiting over the weekend hoping that kvbarkley would report back.

In his abscence, I wonder if any other Rebel T6 owners would lower themselves and try the auto mode when nobody is looking!

A reminder that I'm asking if it's possible to take a picture in auto without the flash popping up as mine does it everytime.

Thank you.

Yes, the settings on either side of the Green [A] behave like that.  You have to manually raise the flash, either by pressing the lighning bolt button on top of the camera near the Main Wheel, or by selecting a similar icon in the [Q], Quick Menu.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Sorry, but for some reason, I'm still not getting an answer to my query.

It's probably my fault , for not being clear, so let's try once more.

This is what my new Canon 1300D does when the main dial is on the green "Auto" position:

The flash unit on the top pops up when I half press the button, and the flash fires when I take the picture.

This happens EVERY time I take a picture, yes EVERY time (sorry for the capitals), in fact it seems it's impossible to take a picture in Auto, without the flash firing.

Is this normal behaviour for the 1300D, or have I got a faulty one, please?