cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Low-light

DaveTheJHK
Apprentice

I'm a novice, so be gentle! I am using a Rebel T3 with a 18-55mm lens. I will be shooting some transportation photos at night along a mostly rural interstate. No time/room for a tripod. Having said all of that, I am looking for advice on camera settings, whether I should use a flash (I use a Speedlite 430EX II) and any other recommendations from the collective wisdom of the community. Thank you!

8 REPLIES 8

ScottyP
Authority

I am not clear on what you mean by a transportation shot.  Are these moving vehicles?  Are you also in a car or on the ground?  

If you want the tail light trails shot, you need a tripod for a long exposure.

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

DaveTheJHK
Apprentice
Sorry, yes, these are moving vehicles and I expect I will be both on the ground and in a vehicle. This will be an over-dimension load, so also slower moving than normal Interstate traffic.

@DaveTheJHK wrote:
Sorry, yes, these are moving vehicles and I expect I will be both on the ground and in a vehicle. This will be an over-dimension load, so also slower moving than normal Interstate traffic.

You're tackling one of the more challenging aspects of photography in this form...taking pictures of moving objects at night without a tripod...Since you mentioned you are new at this...you might have a hard time getting decent pictures.

I still think it's possible but it will require a certain level of skills acquired by practice.