Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,365
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Issue Connecting SL2 To Macbook

You could be making a wrong turn somewhere.  You have to reconnect your Macbook Wi-Fi to the camera.  If your Macbook is staying connected to the internet, then you are doing it wrong.  

The video link posted above shows exactly how to do it for an 80D. 

 

https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/support/

 

According to the SL2 Wirelss manual, you would follow the same identical steps.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-31-2017

Re: Issue Connecting SL2 To Macbook

Thanks Waddizzle - 've gone through thoses recommended threads and I think my issue is slightly different.

 

My Macbook indicates I've got a connection with my 80D.

Screen Shot 2017-12-31 at 12.59.21 PM.png

 

However, when the 80D asks to click to Pair and Open EOS Utility, I don't see this window (You tube video).

Screen Shot 2017-12-31 at 1.00.50 PM.png

 

I just get the main EOS Utility window with all the options greyed out.

Screen Shot 2017-12-31 at 1.24.39 PM.png

 

I know I must be doing something wrong, but haven't put my finger on it yet.

 

I've turned off the FW and restarted my laptop.

 

Any other suggestions?  Thanks!

Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,365
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Issue Connecting SL2 To Macbook

It appears that you are starting the EOS Utility.  You need for the Utility Launcher to start.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-31-2017

Re: Issue Connecting SL2 To Macbook

Many thanks Waddizzle!!

 

For some reason when I first installed EOS Utility 3.7.0, the launcher wasn't installed.

Finally, got the Utility working. Much appreciate your assistance!

Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,365
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Issue Connecting SL2 To Macbook


fielderda wrote:

Many thanks Waddizzle!!

 

For some reason when I first installed EOS Utility 3.7.0, the launcher wasn't installed.

Finally, got the Utility working. Much appreciate your assistance!


You're welcome.  I'm glad to have helped.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
tck
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-04-2018

Re: Issue Connecting SL2 To Macbook

I have tried this and have a problem, I go through all the steps, get WiFi connection,
start pairing on EOS,
then launch EOS utility,
click paring over LAN
EOS paring software window pops up but all fields are blank
Tried restarting, reconnecting many times same result
Highlighted
tck
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-04-2018

Re: Issue Connecting SL2 To Macbook

Well, I figured it out, the way for me to get it working was to access my home network with SSID/Password.  Then on the MAC

a pop-up window appeared with "camera detected, click here to connect"

When I did that, then I opened the EOS main utility and options were available.

Now on the EOS the MAC shows up as an Icon in the connection point display, when it's clicked on the connection is automatic, just like with an iPhone.

 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement