cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am a novice and would like to try shooting stars. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

brandi
Apprentice

I have limited knowledge and no users guide.  I have a Canon Rebel XT digital -- they don't even list it on the manual guide page.  I guess that means it's old.  Anyway, I would like to try my luck at shooting stars and would appreciate any advice -- in basic terms, please -- that I can get.  Thanks.

5 REPLIES 5

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Visit this page.  Type in your camera's model number in the box, to find the support page for your model.

https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/support

From the camera support page, you can download manuals, software, and any firmware updates.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Astrophotography.  That is the technical term for what you're asking about.  Try searching for that word in the camera forum, and you should find qutie a number of articles.  A search of the web should turn up lots of stuff, too.  You may also want to find a web site called "Dark Sky Finder", and some digitial planetarium softwrae to navigate your way around the night sky.  I use "Solarium" for Windows.

The simplest from of astrophotography involves using an ultra-wide angle lens [under 20mm] to capture an image of the night sky.  The shorter the focal length, all the better.  You also will need a good and sturdy, professional grade tripod, not one made from plastic.