Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 842
Registered: ‎03-06-2013

Re: How can I get my computer to recognize the canon eos digital rebel

[ Edited ]

Check out this one: http://forums.usa.canon.com/t5/EOS/300D-and-Vista-Need-help/m-p/19907#U19907

Hope it can help, in short, change your Communication type of your Rebel to PTP. Most older version Rebel and xxD line camera have this options.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Weekend Travelers Blog | Eastern Sierra Fall Color Guide
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-02-2015

Re: How can I get my computer to recognize the canon eos digital rebel

And where does one find this communication setting?

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-15-2015

Re: How can I get my computer to recognize the canon eos digital rebel

That suggestion worked like a charm.  Thank You very much!!

Super Contributor
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎03-17-2015

Re: How can I get my computer to recognize the canon eos digital rebel


drgoochmobile wrote:

And where does one find this communication setting?


This thread is 2 yrs old, good luck getting an answer

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-09-2015

Re: How can I get my computer to recognize the canon eos digital rebel

I am having the same problem!!! Did you figure it out?

Super Contributor
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎03-17-2015

Re: How can I get my computer to recognize the canon eos digital rebel

[ Edited ]

CamaroLoverz wrote:

I am having the same problem!!! Did you figure it out?


what model is your rebel???   One thing you can do is uninstall and re-install your software.  Make sure you have the most up to date software installed.  make sure you have all your windows updates installed.   And make sure your windows operating system is compatible with your rebel software.  Check it out on canon website.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-20-2015

Re: How can I get my computer to recognize the canon eos digital rebel

Thank you!!!!!! I was just having this exact same issue with my Rebel XT on W10EOS Utility 2 I couldn't get the program to recognize my camera. As soon as  I changed my communucation settings to Print/PTP, VOILA!!! camera instantly recognized.

 

The Canon website says no drivers are required for this camera for W10, but my computer which has W10 digresses and says yes, a driver is required. So hopefully Canon and Microsoft can get their act together and fix this for good.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-15-2015

Re: How can I get my computer to recognize the canon eos digital rebel

  I have had two  canon rebels.  With your camera in the off position, plug the  USB cord into your Canon camera and the other end into the USB port.  Then turn the camera On.  Then on your Desktop double click My Computer, scroll down til you see the Canon icon.  Right click the icon and it will bring up a small drop down window.  Last step is to Left click and select "Import pictures and Videos".  Then you can Tag by typing in for example THANKSGIVING or any occassion.   I always type in a date the pictures were taken.  Then click Enter on your Keyboard.  Will then start downloading your pictures.  The pictures will end up in the Picture folder. I have Windows 7 and it works every time. 

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-11-2016

Re: How can I get my computer to recognize the canon eos digital rebel

Hello everybody

Sorry to bother you with this, I can see you already spent quite some time on people like me.

I've been having the same problem with my Canon MD150 MiniDV recorder. I haven't connected it to my computer for about 3 years, and now my computer (windows 7) doesn't recognize the camera anymore, and my laptop neither (windows 7 as well). Last time I used it, it worked on my computer, but that's 3 years ago.

I can't find the original CD to install the pilote, so I've downloaded a pilot that should work (?).

I'm using the USB cable to connect the camera and the computer/laptop, not the CV-150F or CV-250F. I have Moviemaker and Premiere on my computer and laptop.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated !

Soren

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-11-2016

Re: How can I get my computer to recognize the canon eos digital rebel

I forgot this detail: I'm not in the US but in Europe (Belgium). I bought it in Belgium as well. Is that a problem ?

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement