cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dialogue recording with the Canon EOS Rebel T2i/550D

KolaKrauze
Contributor

(This is quite a long question -- I am a beginner and will really appreciate anyone who takes the time to help me, and I would be very happy to reward anyone who gives me a solution to my problem!)

I regularly film simple interviews but I have a big problem with my sound. I want to have as good sound from the person I am filming but as little as possible of everything else (e.g. passing traffic, fridge noises, general "room buzz"). I recently spent almost $100 on an external Røde mic which Røde specifically recommend for the Canon EOS, and this did not help. (I have tried a Lav mic too -- to no avail.) One sound expert I briefly came into contact with suggested that my camera is set to be very sensitive and that I should change its sound settings. I have read through the book "Canon EOS Rebel T2i/550D for Dummies" but it barely covers sound at all.

I have recorded three very brief videos to illustrate my problem -- I have had to password-protect them but the password is: bjorn

In each case I am about 30 inches from the lens/mic and talking at my normal volume. The other person in the room is standing about 10 feet away to the left and talking very quietly. What I am trying to achieve is that my voice should be clear, there should be as little background noise as possible, and someone standing 10 feet away should be barely audible, if at all.

Without the Røde, i.e. simply my camera: https://vimeo.com/236214454

With a Røde and its setting "80Hz" which Røde claim reduces background noisehttps://vimeo.com/236216387

(I cannot hear any significant difference between the three.)

Really, I will be very grateful for any help I can get.
7 REPLIES 7

The T2i manual (p.125) says that "The sound recording level will be adjusted automatically." Could that be your problem?

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA