Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-19-2017

Canon Rebel t6i

Hello everyone. I am having troubles with my Rebel t6i. He crashes and doesn't work anymore. Even when i want to turn the camera off, it stays on and I get to see a circkle that says "recording, remaining images:1" Even when I wait for 20 minutes it will keep saying that. I have to take the battery out and then it will stop. Still can't take pictures. The camera is 3 months old . Bought it on Amazon, international version , no guaranty.I have brought the camera to a licenst repairshop, they couldn't find anything wrong with it.. 3 weeks later it doesn't work anymore.. same problem.. What do I do?? Thank you in advance. Nicky

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,250
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon Rebel t6i

[ Edited ]

While you may not be able to get a refund at this late date, you should still report your experience to Amazon.

 

Hopefully, your camera is using a bad memory card.  Try removing the card before the next time you turn it on.  Turn it on without a card, and see if you can enter the menus to reset the camera back to factory defaults.  

 

I would also buy a new memory card, too.  Try to buy a card from a local store, not Amazon.  Buy a name brand card, like Lexar or Sandisk.  I would avoid PNY Technologies, because they seem to have had quality control issues, at least in my experience.  Be sure to only buy a full size SDHC card.  I recommend 32GB  Never use a microSD card with an adapter.  The microSD cards should only be used in devices that use them directly, because the adapters are highly unreliable.

 

Finally, be sure to perform a low level format, while it is in the camera, on the memory card prior to first use.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-19-2017

Re: Canon Rebel t6i

Thank you for your response.

I did get a new card, even bought a new battery. It workt fine for a week or 2 after being at the repair shop. it won't take any pictures and won't turn off unless i open up the battery cover.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,250
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon Rebel t6i


NicoleNicky wrote:

Thank you for your response.

I did get a new card, even bought a new battery. It workt fine for a week or 2 after being at the repair shop. it won't take any pictures and won't turn off unless i open up the battery cover.


Good, you have bought a new card.  That's just a start.  What brand of card?  What is the storage capacity?  If you bought the card on Amazon, then there is a distinct possibility that it is no good.  Buy a new one, like 8 to 32 GB.     

 

Try the rest of my suggestions that I listed, beginning with removing the card, and turning on the camera so that you.can try to reset.  Try formatting a NEW memory card in the camera after you have reset the camera.  Never use that "new" card you said that you have already bought again.  I have already told you that your existing card is suspect.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-19-2017

Re: Canon Rebel t6i

I bought A Lexar 32gb card, and I did all the above that you suggested.The card is not from Amazon. bought it in a camera store.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-19-2017

Re: Canon Rebel t6i

I tried another new card, formatted it and for now it's working again!! YAY!! Thank you so much for helping. I now wonder why this is happening. Should I replace cards on a regular basis?? Any suggestions?? Thank you :-)
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-19-2017

Re: Canon Rebel t6i

Oops.. I was too quick. it took one pic and isn't working anymore.. was a completely new card..
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,250
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon Rebel t6i


NicoleNicky wrote:
I tried another new card, formatted it and for now it's working again!! YAY!! Thank you so much for helping. I now wonder why this is happening. Should I replace cards on a regular basis?? Any suggestions?? Thank you :-)

You're not done, yet.  If it seems to be working, then that could be good news.  But, I still think you should reset the camera, if you have not already done so.  Your camera has unknown origins.  You need to eliminate as many of those unknowns as possible.  Reset it.  Check the firmware revision, especially if it may have been used.  I don't care what the box or Amazon says about the camera.  

 

 

It is crucial that you always perform a LOW LEVEL format prior to using any new memory card.  New cards may seem to be formatted, but they are not.  What may seem to be valid formatting is actually residue from production testing, which needs to be completely erased.  Sometimes the residual formatting leads into dead ends, or infinite loops.

 

 

Should you replace cards on a regular basis?  It is good to have a spare.  Cards can fail whenever they feel like it.  If a card is not showing signs of intermittent or failing operation, then I see no reason to replace it.  It is a best practice to fully erase a card before you go out on a "big shoot", though.  Don't use the camera as a storage device for your pictures.  

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,250
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon Rebel t6i


NicoleNicky wrote:
Oops.. I was too quick. it took one pic and isn't working anymore.. was a completely new card..

Not good news.  Have you tried to reset the camera, yet?  What does "isn't working" mean?  What is the camera doing?  

 

It sounds like your camera is possibly defective and in need of repair.  But, we cannot be certain of anything until you go through all of the steps to eliminate other possibilities: i.e.; like operator error.  Certain modes of camera operation can make it seem like it is malfunctioning, when it is not.  

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-19-2017

Re: Canon Rebel t6i

I did reset the camera.. 3 times already. put in a brand new card, low level format, took 1 pic and done again. not working anymore. I download my pics every day and clear out my card.. formatting too once in a while. No clue.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement