Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,216
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon 1300D lots of noise (even with low ISO)

At macro distances, a variation of as little as 1/8 of inch, or 2mm, can make the difference between in focus and out of focus.  If the subject is moving in the least, then a sharp photo can be difficult.  

If you are using a tripod, then turn of Image Stabilization.  Try to manually focus with Live View, instead of using AF.  Try taking  a photo of a static object, like a coin on a table to gain a better understanding on macro photography.  

 

Like I said above, the depth of field at macro distances is very shallow.  An out of focus macro shot may not mean that the lens failed to focus. It usually means that the subject was outside of your depth of field.  A properly functioning lens is always in focus at some specific distance.  Making that focus distance align with your subject can be tricky.

When you are shooting action photos of live subjects, do not expect all of the shots to be "keepers".  You can expect many, if not most, to be marginal at best.  Until you get more practice, you can expect a low keeper rate with macro photography.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-06-2017

Re: Canon 1300D lots of noise (even with low ISO)

Ok, thanks for all the information.
I think I would like to go more for a not fixed (I don't know how you say it in english) focal length.

Would it change the sharpness a lot?
What do you think of the EF-M 15-45mm f/3.5-6.3 IS STM ?

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 629
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: Canon 1300D lots of noise (even with low ISO)

[ Edited ]

Robin4321 wrote:

Ok, thanks for all the information.
I think I would like to go more for a not fixed (I don't know how you say it in english) focal length.

Would it change the sharpness a lot?
What do you think of the EF-M 15-45mm f/3.5-6.3 IS STM ?


EF-M won´t work with your 1300D. Your mount is for EF, EF-S, MP-E and TS-E.

 

EF-M is for mirrorless cameras. I own EF-M 15-45/3,5-6,3 IS STM. I use it every day. Light, but a lot of CA at 15mm. On the other hand, I never have any AF variance, back focus or front focus with my 15-45 together with my mirrorless camera.

 

Just do what I wrote before heading out buying new things. Live View with autofocus. Live View is always exact in normal light and if you have a good subject like the spider, but slower than the AF in your viewfinder.

---------------------------------------------------------
My Swedish blog

M5, 7D, 6D, D30, 1000D IR, 16-35/4L IS, 100/2,8 Macro, 70-200/2,8L IS II, 24-105/4L, 85/1,8, 50/1,4, 24/1,4L II, 300/2,8L IS, Helios 58/2

Darktable, RawTherapee, Photomatix, Luminance HDR, GIMP 2.9.5.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-06-2017

Re: Canon 1300D lots of noise (even with low ISO)

Hi guys,

 

It's been now about 2 weeks that I've realised why others' pictures always looked nicer and sharper than mine...
I discovered lightroom and it completely changed my pictures, it's crazy.

I kind of feel like this is cheating but it seems like all good photographers use that kind of software so...

I tried not to overuse it though.

 

Here you can see some of the pictures I took in the past few years (with that canon 1300D or with my old compact camera) :

https://www.facebook.com/Robin-photography-2001638433405179/?modal=media_composer

 

I would be happy to have some advises/feedbacks on how to improve if you feel like it Smiley Happy

VIP
Posts: 8,007
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Canon 1300D lots of noise (even with low ISO)

[ Edited ]

Great photos are made in post editing. Not in the camera! Smiley Wink 

 If you think LR is good just wait until you discover Photoshop.

A lot of Canon stuff. Along with, a lot of other stuff.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎07-06-2017

Re: Canon 1300D lots of noise (even with low ISO)

I've known Photoshop for a long time (even if I'm not so good at using it yet) but I've only known Lightroom for 2 weeks and I like it a lot because it's really easy to make nice improvement of the picture by just a few clics.

Highlighted
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,216
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Canon 1300D lots of noise (even with low ISO)


Robin4321 wrote:

I've known Photoshop for a long time (even if I'm not so good at using it yet) but I've only known Lightroom for 2 weeks and I like it a lot because it's really easy to make nice improvement of the picture by just a few clics.


You should be seeing hardly any noise at ISO 100, though, with a 1300D, or T6.  If you are seeing noise, something is wrong.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement