cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't get my camera to focus

Mghnickell
Contributor
Hi y'all,. I'm new to photoboothing and I can't figure out what setting I put my Canon Rebel T5 on so that everyone stays in focus and don't come out blurry. Can someone please give me some pointers ?
22 REPLIES 22

diverhank
Authority

@Mghnickell wrote:
Hi y'all,. I'm new to photoboothing and I can't figure out what setting I put my Canon Rebel T5 on so that everyone stays in focus and don't come out blurry. Can someone please give me some pointers ?

What are your settings (Av, Tv and ISO) in the pictures that are blurry.  How far apart are the rows of people?  How far are you (your camera) from the people?  What focal length?

================================================
Diverhank's photos on Flickr

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

@Mghnickell wrote:

Read the instruction manual.

Do a web search for " exposure triangle " , and " depth of field ".

Read the instruction manual again, because you should have gained a better perspective after learning about the above.

Find out why the following common reasons for not being able to focus, can cause the camera to not be able to focus.

• Not enough light for the camera to focus.  Try enabling the "AF Assist Beam"
  • Not enough contrast under the AF point for the camera to focus.
  • Subject is too close to the camera.
  • Use of an extender raises the effective f/stop too high for the camera's AF system to focus.

There are more reasons, but those are some of the most common.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

ScottyP
Authority

By "photoboothing " do you mean like at a wedding where people climb into a little booth with funny hats and make group selfies?