cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't get my camera to focus

Mghnickell
Contributor
Hi y'all,. I'm new to photoboothing and I can't figure out what setting I put my Canon Rebel T5 on so that everyone stays in focus and don't come out blurry. Can someone please give me some pointers ?
22 REPLIES 22

Mr_Fusion
Enthusiast
Just my 2 cents, but don't go manual. My rational is when people are moving around between pictures you can't waste time re evaluating each exposure.

Second, either adjust your lights or move them back.

Third, I would use a tripod and remote. You want a spontaneous photo so make it semi posed and part spontaneous. A remote allows you to talk to them as you go. BUT, a remote is not essential and you can do well with a hand held.

Fourth, with a T5 and 18-55 lens, I would move the camera back until you are at 55. Slight telescopic give better portraits. Less flattens the subjects.

Fifth, set the aperture to 7.1 to 8.0 That will allow some depth of field and give some shutter speed.

Sixth, you may use up to ISO1600 on the T5 if necessary. 800 is better and 400 even better still.

Seventh, if your subjects move, I would try to keep the shutter as close to 200 as possible. Again, using a remote and tripod helps here.

Eigth, I would set the control to either Av (aperture) or Tv (shutter) over any preset mode. By setting everything as above, that leaves your lighting as the last variable. Find a happy medium that works and dont stray.

I apologize if I'm over long. Most of this stuff I don't even ponder, it just comes automatic of what I'll get with any adjustment.

@Mr_Fusion wrote:
Just my 2 cents, but don't go manual. My rational is when people are moving around between pictures you can't waste time re evaluating each exposure.

Fifth, set the aperture to 7.1 to 8.0 That will allow some depth of field and give some shutter speed.