Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-07-2015

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

This is the camera's built in flash.  I'm using a Canon Rebel XSi

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-05-2015

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

[ Edited ]

One possibility comes to mind...if your 50mm lens has a different maximum wide-open f-stop (i.e. 1.7 vs 3.5) than your 18-55 then the flash isn't firing because the lens is capable of opening up more and camera doesn't sense you even need the flash to fire.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-07-2015

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

Thanks for your feedback. It doesn't even take a picture now if on AF mode.  

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-05-2015

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

I just read some articles about the XSi and there is an on going problem with the AF mode (Auto focus). Perhaps it is this since you said that now it doesn't work with either lense. Googled "canon xsi af problem".

 

Can you put this camera in Manual Focus mode and see if it works that way?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-27-2015

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

My Rebel XS also will shoot in MF mode but not in AF.  I rotated/pulled out the front "auto focus" section of the lens, and then the camera would auto focus for 1 shot.  I have to pull/rotate the front portion of the lens all the way back out again for the camera to take a shot.  It will pull the lens back in to properly autofocus, but it doesn't seem to like to push it out.  Is this just lens failure with no way around it but a new lens, or is there a way to clean it out inside or something? I did wipe that front AF portion of the lens very clean when it was fully extended, but to no avail.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-28-2015

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

So I'm having a problem with my rebel xs. First of all the screen will not come on for the love of love. No matter if I push the display botton it still stay off. Second off, the when I turn on the camera and look in the view finder it keep on saying busy. It will flash and focus but it keep saying busy no matter what mode it's on. Can someone please help me.
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 621
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

https://canonrepair.wordpress.com/2013/08/24/canon-1000d-busy-message-on-the-display/
---------------------------------------------------------
My Swedish blog

M5, 7D, 6D, D30, 1000D IR, 16-35/4L IS, 100/2,8 Macro, 70-200/2,8L IS II, 24-105/4L, 85/1,8, 50/1,4, 24/1,4L II, 300/2,8L IS, Helios 58/2

Darktable, RawTherapee, Photomatix, Luminance HDR, GIMP 2.9.5.
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-05-2015

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

Fantastic link, Peter. I hope all the Rebel XS etc. users that are having problems have a look at your link.
Reputable Contributor
Posts: 621
Registered: ‎11-14-2012

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

In Digital Photo Professional or at http://regex.info/exif.cgi you can check your older pictures to check what firmware you have in the camera. If it is 1.0.5 or older, then maybe Canon service centre fixes it for free.

---------------------------------------------------------
My Swedish blog

M5, 7D, 6D, D30, 1000D IR, 16-35/4L IS, 100/2,8 Macro, 70-200/2,8L IS II, 24-105/4L, 85/1,8, 50/1,4, 24/1,4L II, 300/2,8L IS, Helios 58/2

Darktable, RawTherapee, Photomatix, Luminance HDR, GIMP 2.9.5.
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-02-2015

Re: Camera saying busy and won't take pictures

The youtube video are private so I can't see them.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement