cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Blurry group pics

gln622
Apprentice

I just bought the Canon Rebel T6i after my Xsi died. I'm having a hard time taking groups of people and them  being blurry...I am and amateur and am using a Tamron lens 18-200. The depth of field is an issue when taking group shots like this or of a youth soccer team for an example or even a straight line of people. Please keep the language simple I am just learning. I did not have this issue at all with my old camera. I shot most everything on program and sometimes adjusted the ISO but never had this blurry issue. The lens is set to Af and the VC is on

group photo

6 REPLIES 6

ScottyP
Authority

For some reason all the people look at least a little blurry on my iPad here.  I assume that some are in focus though. 

Google for a depth of field calculator; there are several good free ones. Enter your camera sensor (1.6x crop) and the aperture and distance to subject and you will find it is rather shallow even at f/4. 

More light would help by letting you use a smaller aperture for more DOF.  

In poor indoor light arrange the group in a clump thinner than 4 deep.  Don't make a hard thing harder.

Try selecting a single AF point (the center one) rather than letting the camera decide, and position that AF point 1/3 of the depth into your subject clump. That would maximize the DOF, hopefully placing the boundaries of the plane of acceptably focused things around all your people.   Approximately 1/3 of your in focus zone will be in front of the AF point and 2/3 behind the point.  See "hyperfocal distance" and then the rule of thumb about 1/3 2/3. 

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?