cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Af successful in only certain conditions

filionugo
Contributor
Hi! I am a novice at photography. I bought a used rebel t3i with the stock lens on it (18-55). I believe it's the stm version. It was working fine but know I have a problem. The autofocus only works when it has to turn counterclockwise. If it has to turn clockwise it will still turn counterclockwise. I'm trying to figure out what's the issue.

Thanks!
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@filionugo wrote:
Hi! I am a novice at photography. I bought a used rebel t3i with the stock lens on it (18-55). I believe it's the stm version. It was working fine but know I have a problem. The autofocus only works when it has to turn counterclockwise. If it has to turn clockwise it will still turn counterclockwise. I'm trying to figure out what's the issue.

Thanks!

If it's the STM version, it should say so on the lens. If it isn't, it may have been damaged by someone trying to focus it manually while it was in AF mode. Such damage is sometimes reversible, and the (rather brutal) technique for doing so has been described two or three times in this forum. It sounds as though it would do more harm than good, but those who have tried it swear that it sometimes works. In any case, the alternative is to junk the lens, which isn't worth the cost of professional repair.

If it is the STM version, focusing it manually in AF mode shouldn't do any damage. In that case, the problem must be something else.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

@filionugo wrote:

Thanks!