cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help with focus area - Canon EOS M50

Tat2abe
Contributor

I am a tattoo artist photo quality is important so after some research i picked up a canon eos m50. 
after having issues i was told yo get a 50mm lense with adapter for closer photos. My issue is the camera will always focus on a small point so the outer area is always blurry. It’s driving me crazy every tattoo image is either crisp in the cener or top or bottom of the tattoo an the other parts blurry. I take pics of an entire sleeve or arm an lower crisp an top blurry or vice versa. Idk what to do. If im too close the came wont focus an if im to far its not crisp.the last time i purchased a canon was the film model rebel back in early 2000’s i never had this issues nor with the cheaper nikon part pix. Why am i spending all this money between the cam the additional lens an adapter an i still cannot easily get a clean pic in 2023? I know im not the brightest but this is ridiculous.  Please if anyone can help im needing help

5 REPLIES 5

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

I think you need a much wider focal length, which should increase your depth of field at close shooting distances.  I think the EF-M mount had an ultra wide angle zoom 10-18mm, or something similar. 

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Sorry im clueless. So there is no way to get the green box to cover entire area on say a 4x8” area? Seems a waste since its like 10% of the photo in some cases. 

Aviator56
Apprentice

Hi, I think the problem you are describing is a narrow depth of focus at the aperture (f stop number) you are using.  Select a smaller aperture on your 50mm lens, say f11, focus on the centre of your subject and take a shot, all of the subject should be in focus.  Setting the camera to Av mode with f11 aperture, and Auto ISO should produce a greater depth of focus, 

shadowsports
Legend
Legend