cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 dg macro for canon blurred images

Gwia
Contributor

Hi All,

I have been using Canon for around 14 years now.
I bought a 2nd hand T5 (550D) which I used up to 2022 when it finally gave up on me.

I got it with the standard 18-55 and also bought a sigma 70-300mm f4-5.6 DG Macro.

I replaced it with the T8 (850D) after the T5 stopped working.

I am a real estate photographer and amateur wild life photographer. The issue I am seeing is that when using the Sigma lens that the images are a bit blurred despite taking necessary steps to make sure that the camera is stable and even having a higher shutter shutter speed on TV mode.

* TV @ 1/1250; F4 / F5.6, ISO 400

The images when using my canon 10-18 lens for real estate are fine so I am leaning towards an issues with the Sigma.
Has anybody else experienced any issues either using the same camera or even a different camera.

Thanks In Advance.

Gwia

16 REPLIES 16

Tronhard
Elite
Elite

Hi Gwia and welcome to the forum:
The first question I would ask is have you addressed this to Sigma support, given you are leaning towards the lens being the issue?
I have not seen an issue reported regarding the body having an issue, and Canon does not provide support for 3rd party lenses - which I know is not what you are asking but why I am wondering about contacting Sigma directly.

Outside of that, is there another body that you can borrow to try the lens on to see how it behaves there?

cheers, TREVOR

"The Amount of Misery expands to fill the space available"
"All the variety, all the charm, all the beauty of life is made up of light and shadow", Leo Tolstoy;
"Skill in photography is acquired by practice and not by purchase" Percy W. Harris

Gwia
Contributor

Hi Tronhard
I appreciate your speedy response.
I have also contacted Sigma and awaiting a response.

I am also trying to source another body to add to the elimination list.