cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XA30 –  Intense Bokeh for Interviews – Specific Menu Settings?

afdskl32
Contributor

I know the basics of having a narrow depth of focus:

-significant distance between subject and background

-large aperture

-zoom

I understrand the underlying principles behind it.

However, I'm new to the XA30, and I'd love to hear a few tips on achieving that narrow DOF 'look' that DSLR shooters can get, specifically with the XA30. I'm talking about specific menu settings, etc.. I shoot for news outlets that are used to DSLR video, and they expect a realatively extreme bokeh look. I love my XA30, and I'm motivated to achieve what they can with DSLRs. I'm definitely a run-and-gun type (hence, my choice of the XA30), but I want to be able to achieve that popular extreme bokeh aesthetic that you typically see in DSLRs. I know the XA30 doesn't have a super large sensor, but still, I need to know how to get as close as I can to what a DSLR can do, with respect to a narrow depth of focus.

By the way, I'm somewhat disappointed by the 'YOU MUST SHOOT VIDEO WITH A DSLR' attitude. It's as if video cameras are looked at as quaint and un-cool.  But that's for another thread...

Thanks

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

@afdskl32 wrote:

I'm not using any particular settings – I'm asking how to get the effect, so that means I don't know what I should be doing

LOL! Well between the two of us, this should be interesting.

If you don't already have a copy of it, you should download the manual from Canon here...

https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/support/details/camcorders/professional/xa30/xa30/...

Once you familiarize yourself with the camera's basic controls, jump ahead to page 75. Be sure to switch to MANUAL mode and then open the Scene Recording Program menu and select the "Portrait"  option. This will set the camera to shoot with a minimum depth of field.