cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with Vixia HF G40 and External Monitor!

Tonofuns
Apprentice

Hello all, novice here just recording soccer for colleges.  Camcorder LCD screen is way to small so I use a Lilliput 5D-II 7" monitor that is hooked up to my new G40 via HDMI.  This worked perfectly on my older Sony CRX550v.  The problem is, the Lilliput monitor does not capture the full view of the G40s lcd screen.  All 4 edges are cropped out some.  Example, the Lilliput does not capture the photo tab on the G40s lcd screen so I'm missing quit a bit when I look into the Lilliput monitor.  I hope this maks sense.  I have the Lilliput set to 16:9. Full view has same issue.  Tried everything.

Is my Lilliput to cheap/weak and upgrading to a better field monitor will fix this issue?  I don't want to spend $300-$500 on a new monitor if it won't help.  Canon rep was zero help.  He hooked it up to a tv and stated that there are zero issues and said that the camcorder was not ment to used with an external monitor so he couldn't help.  Wow, this isn't rocket science.

B&H blames the G40 which makes no sense to me.

I am sorry to say that what you are facing is not an issue with the monitor, but a limitation of the 5D Mark II itself.  That camera does not have a completely clean HDMI output that can send out a full signal in the same way as the G40.  No monitor is going to correct this situation.

All I want is to be able to connect an external monitor to my G40 so that when I'm recording a soccer match and looking into the larger screen, it is equaling to what is on the LCD.  I shouldn't have to guess my distance when I zoom or pan away because I have to take into account the differences of the 2 screens.  I can't believe we are creating self driving cars and I can't have 2 monitors equal each other. Sigh...